Books and Thoughts

The Stand by Stephen King, #29 on the Reader’s Choice List

An appropriate book for today’s times! The Stand was published in 1978 and took place in America. A post-apocalyptic tale about what could happen if a deadly virus was released into the world unchecked. I recently saw a tweet from Stephen King telling people to relax, it’s not the Stand. He got a comment, how do you know? Have you read the book? What could be better than that right? There are some things that you cannot make up!

Most people do know the book and what is about, even if they only watched the mini-series about it. A handful of people survived the virus, which killed almost instantly. There was no recovering from this virus. The survivors gathered together. It became the battle over good and evil. They really should make this into a movie, like the others, but better.

I read the Stand when I was young, I was in high school. I absolutely loved it! I read it over and over again. I was pleased it showed up on my list. My book club rarely does books like this. There are other books about deadly viruses released in the world.

If you are a Stephen King fan, you know that there are characters that appear in several other novels. Richard Bachman was a favorite of mine before I discovered he was Stephen King. The same characters are mentioned in those novels as well.

Question: Do you think wearing a mask really helps preventing viruses? Do you think the Corona Virus will ever end?

Leave a comment